5 Things You NEED to Know Before You Get In A Car Accident in Oregon
#1 Always get the other person’s insurance information!
After a car accident, the hormone “adrenaline” is pumping through your body due to the excitement. Adrenaline, also known as epinephrine, can reduce pain in your body for up to two days. It is important to wait those two days before evaluating whether or not you are injured. Be sure to let your insurance company know that regardless of how you feel, you are going to get checked by a doctor of chiropractic or a medical doctor.
#2 You have one year and $15,000 to get your body back to “Pre-Injury Status” with no consequence to you!
All Oregon Non-commercial Auto Insurance Policies have a minimum of one year of coverage and at least $15,000 in no fault medical coverage. That means that if you are injured in an auto, bike or pedestrian accident, your insurance will provide $15,000 for you to reach what is called “pre-injury status”. Pre-injury status refers to how your body felt and functioned before the accident. There is no penalty for using that personal protection. In fact, it is smart to get checked by your doctor to make sure that there are no problems that may show up later.
#3 Your insurance will cover everyone in your car; if you don’t have insurance, the other driver’s insurance should pay your doctor’s bills.
Oregon’s personal injury protection covers care for all of the occupants of the car. If a pedestrian or cyclist is hit by a car it will cover them too. If you are the pedestrian or cyclist hit by a vehicle, be sure to get the driver’s insurance information as their insurance will cover your bills.
#4 You can see any doctor that you choose and they will do all of the paperwork required by the insurance companies.
Here at Discover Chiropractic, we take care of all of the back-end paperwork for your insurance company. That takes all the stress off of you. We like to make sure that you don’t get stuck with the bill for chiropractic, physiotherapy and massage, so we take care of all of that for you too. There are several offices that do the same; make sure you ask about billing procedures before you start care anywhere.
#5 Do Not Sign anything until you have talked to your doctor or your PIP lawyer.
There will be plenty of time to sign papers coming from the insurance company, so it is best to have all of the information from your doctor before agreeing to a settlement or stoppage of care. In most cases you won’t need a lawyer, but in some circumstances it can be to your benefit to let someone else deal with the legal process. If you have any questions about what the insurance company is telling you, do not hesitate to ask one of our doctors during your free consultation.
At Discover Chiropractic we have been helping people in the Beaverton, Or and surrounding areas who have been involved in an auto accident, just like you, rid themselves of pain. Utilizing state of the art tools and practicing with the latest in techniques, we can help you live a happy, active, comfortable life again. See what others have to say about Discover Chiropractic, and when you’re ready, contact to us to schedule an appointment.
Following any automobile accident, make sure you consult with your chiropractor in Beaverton immediately following the accident. Our training will allow us to detect and help those injuries which are specific to car collisions. If you or someone you know has been in an accident contact our office to set up a consultation as soon as possible. Having a team on your side can make all the difference in your final treatment outcomes.
|Monday||11am - 6pm|
|Tuesday||11am - 6pm|
|Wednesday||11am - 6pm|
|Thursday||11am - 6pm|
|Friday||11am - 6pm*|
*By Appointment Only
9266 SW Beaverton Hillsdale Highway
Beaverton, OR 97005